Plans After 34 Years

What is Deeper Waters and why does it matter? Let’s talk about it on Deeper Waters.

If you’re on my Facebook page, you probably know by now that today, I celebrate 34 years of life. On such a day as this, I try to look back and see how it is I got where I am, but for the most part, I want to tell you all where I think Deeper Waters is going and why I’m so excited about it and why the ministry that we’re doing here is so special.

First off, a lot of this stuff can be covered in the newsletter. If you’re not getting our monthly newsletter and would like to be a part of it, then please let me know. You can email me at Apologianick@gmail.com and let me know that you want to be a subscriber. If you do this route, please include something in the subject line so I will recognize you. I too get a lot of spam. You can also go to our Facebook group and sign up. While there, please “like” Deeper Waters.

Second, I will be speaking this evening in the Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge area. I’m the opening speaker at a conference and the point of my talk will be the importance of Christian apologetics today. I’m quite excited to have this opportunity where my invitation just came out of the blue and to get to be a recognized speaker at an event is an honor.

Third, next Friday, my wife and I both will be speaking at the Freedom Church of God for their “God’s Not Dead” conference. I will be speaking on the historicity of the resurrection. My wife will meanwhile be giving her first ever talk at a conference. She will be speaking on the problem of evil from the perspective of a layman and how the reality of God has helped her overcome evil in her life.

Fourth, I will be speaking the first Sunday of October at Farragut Church of Christ for their adult Sunday School class. I will be doing a lesson I’ve wanted to do for some time where I will be speaking on Christian marriage. I’m convinced that if we want to turn the tide in our country on marriage, we need more than good arguments. We need good marriages and I want to encourage people to celebrate their spouses and their marriages. I thoroughly believe that the world doesn’t honor marriage because the church failed to honor it first.

What else do we have up ahead in the works?

There’s always the Podcast. I am constantly trying to get the best guests on. Next month I will be interviewing James Sire, a classic in apologetics for decades, as well as Graham Veale on his book on the new atheism. I will also interview Matthew Flannagan on a book he’s written with Paul Copan on war in the OT as well as interviewing Marcia Montenegro on Christianity and the New Age Movement. If you like the podcast, then please go to ITunes and leave a positive review. It just thrills me when I go and see new comments. So many of you surprise me by telling me how much you like the show.

Also, Ebooks. We have one on the new atheism in the works and as it stands, I’m also writing one on dealing with internet memes today. It’s going to be a brief look at a topic sometimes followed by other recommended resources that could be used to further understand the topic. Memes being used as arguments instead of just a humorous punch is a great problem today with internet debate.

In the middle of all of this I’m going to be working on my Master’s still so yes, I am a busy busy guy. Not only that, but I’m also leading a men’s group on Sunday nights for our church where we talk about apologetics issues. I also do work for my church in writing out material that is used for our studies so know that your support of Deeper Waters does go to work that I am doing.

Let’s talk about that right quick. Donations. Really, I don’t like doing this part, but it’s something that has to be done. Your donations just thrill me. Each time I get one in it tells me that this is someone who has been impacted by Deeper Waters and wants me to keep going. If you want to donate, you can see the section on the side where it says to help support the work of Deeper Waters Christian Ministries. Now if you click that link that will take you to Risen Jesus. Please consider donating and especially, becoming a monthly donor. If you do make a donation, and I cannot stress this part enough, make sure you email me afterwards at Apologianick@gmail.com and say “I’m X and I just made a donation of Y to your ministry.” I will pass it on to my mother-in-law who runs the finances of RisenJesus, the ministry of Mike Licona, and they will make sure that it goes to me. Your donation that way will also be tax-deductible.

Now some of you might be wondering why I don’t just set myself up as a 501c3 and not go through Risen Jesus. That’s because becoming a 501c3 costs money and right now, we don’t have enough monthly donors to justify that. It will be wonderful when we get to that day, but so far, we are not there yet.

I really hope you all appreciate the work that is done here at Deeper Waters. We are trying to bring the best and your support means everything. If the fruit of this ministry has done you good, why not consider becoming an investor in it? If you cannot do that at that time, then please pray for the ministry and share the material that we have and let other people know.

Be praying for me tonight as I give this important talk! For all who have been friends and supporters to me this far, I cannot thank you enough. I would not be where I am today were it not for you.

In Christ,

Nick Peters

Tags: , , , ,

7 Responses to “Plans After 34 Years”

  1. labreuer Says:

    Congratulations for staying alive and sane! 🙂 I appreciate the impact your life has had on mine, which I think is about the highest praise I can give.

    Second, I will be speaking this evening in the Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge area. I’m the opening speaker at a conference and the point of my talk will be the importance of Christian apologetics today.

    I have a challenge for you: integrate Crude’s Theism, Sans Emotion into your talk, especially given his and my conversation, specifically:

    Crude: You’re likely correct that the title is… let’s say, ‘too hard on emotion’. Think of it as targeting a specific variety of emotion, perhaps.

    My point was that if God made (1) heart, (2) mind, (3) strength, and (4) soul, then all were good, all were corrupted by the Fall, and all can be sanctified. Might it be the case that apologetics if not theism in general is particularly weak on (1), these days? Or perhaps more precisely: might it be that Christianity in the West is well-categorized by folks being strong with (1) and weak with (2), or weak with (1) and strong with (2), but not strong with both?

    Evidence for the above supposition comes from On Being an Ex-Apologist (Hardman, part 1 of 3), where Randy Hardman notes that being an apologetics was damaging to his heart-health:

    While I certainly came across “evidences” that allowed me to shake off some of the intellectual doubts that I had picked up on, I can’t say any longer that apologetics “saved my faith,” which was something I said time and again in front of audiences and in writing.
    […]
    I didn’t know Him despite knowing all about Him. Christianity was an orthodoxy to be defended, a set of correct conservative doctrines and dogmas based on philosophical, historical, and scientific arguments, not a personal covenant or a relationship with the redeemer of souls.

    I can deeply empathize with this, because I grew up extremely intellectual. Indeed, the only acceptable emotion was excitement; all else was malfunctioning of the somatic systems—everything but the mind. The thing is, the flavor of ‘intellectual’ is what Barfield calls “atomistic” in Owen Barfield on C.S. Lewis, which he gets from Coleridge; perhaps James Cutsinger’s The Form of Transformed Vision gets most at this most concisely, although it’s a hard read. The idea I want to pick out from “atomistic thinking” is that it is composed entirely of “eternal truths”, such that the ideal life really is that of Plato or Aristotle: contemplating “divine thoughts”. Relationships with other human beings are merely tools for discovering and developing divine thoughts. That’s what life is, for the intellectual. It’s a sucky life compared to what is possible.

    Søren Kierkegaard introduces a different kind of knowledge in Philosophical Fragments, chapter 1: relational knowledge. Emil Brunner develops this kind of knowledge extensively in Truth as Encounter. As it happens, this is really the only way to make sense of (1) God as revealed through history, (2) Jesus, a person being “the truth”. Neither of these is compatible with truth being abstract. Both of these require truth to be intrinsically relational—and therefore not atomistic. The kinds of atoms Coleridge knew of merely bumped into each other and stuck to each other, but never could they become part of each other. To such an atomist, abiding in Jesus is nonsense. God being in us makes no sense, unless we are simply God, which was a danger of liberal Christianity.

    I want to suggest that emotion is fundamental to non-atomistic relationship. And so, apologetics without emotion being important is apologetics of abstract truths, not apologetics of restored relationship.

    P.S. Alistair McFadyen’s Bound to Sin: Abuse, Holocaust and the Christian Doctrine of Sin likely gets at this stuff, but I haven’t yet read enough to say in detail.

    • apologianick Says:

      I only have 20 minutes and I will do what I can. I encourage people that they use their minds to establish the foundation and live it out in their experience and emotions.

      • labreuer Says:

        But, but, you must say EVERYTHING in those 20 minutes! I suggest 20/34 minute for each year of your life. And talk about emotion and intellect. You can do it! :-p

        As to the precise wording of what you’re saying here, may I suggest that this might not be how emotion actually works? I suggest some science, from Descartes’ Error:

        When emotion is entirely left out of the reasoning picture, as happens in certain neurological conditions, reason turns out to be even more flawed than when emotion plays bad tricks on our decisions. (xii)

        You can learn more about this from somatic marker hypothesis, and especially via looking at “VMPFC patients”, who are people who have brain lesions which very likely hinder the brain’s access to emotion information. These people exhibit very poor goal-directed behavior, suggesting that emotions are more important and function differently than we are wont to believe. The very book title, Descartes’ Error, is meant to attack Cogito ergo sum. I used to really like Descartes’ saying; now I am much more drawn to Augustine’s Si enim fallor, sum.

  2. vincent Says:

    Reblogged this on Talmidimblogging and commented:
    Happy birthday Nick!! God’s blessings be upon you and yours!

  3. hendricks87 Says:

    Happy birthday, Nick!

  4. Erskine Ashbee Says:

    found your review of Reliable Truth by Richard Simmons helpful, If you had one shot at a book reference for an intelligent non believer what would your selection be?

    • apologianick Says:

      On a general basis, I could go for something like J. Warner Wallace’s “Cold Case Christianity.”

      For an emphasis on the resurrection, I’d go with Habermas and Licona’s “The Case for the Resurrection of Jesus.”

Leave a Reply

