Analogical Language and Approaching God

There are three types of language that we use when speaking about God. By language, I don’t mean English, Spanish, French, etc. I mean rather the way we use the words that we say no matter what language they’re in. All of these were discussed in the Medieval period by Dons Scotus and Thomas Aquinas.

The first is univocal. Let us take the word love as an example. If I were to be seeing my family again at Christmas and I see my Mom and say “I love you Mom” and were then to see my Dad and say “I love you Dad”, it is not likely anyone would think that I mean something different by the word love in each case. I love my Mom and my Dad the same way.

On the other hand, in English, we know love can take on a number of other meanings which is really a deficit in the English language. I cannot say I love my friends the same way that I love my parents. I definitely cannot say I love my friends or parents the way I’d love a significant other of the opposite sex. I finally cannot say I love any of these the way I am to love God. When the same word is used and the meaning is differnt, then we have what is called equivocal language.

There is a third type and that is analogical language. There is a similarity but a difference. Scotus and Aquinas went back and forth on this, though not literally as they didn’t live at the same time exactly, but their writings show a discussion over the ideas. Scotus was worried that if our words don’t mean the same thing when describing God, then all God-language is meaningless, but Aquinas knew that there had to be some difference between us and God.

The answer is that the concepts that we speak of are univocal, but the application of them is analogical. We can speak of the wisdom of God for instance. Wisdom is meant univocally. It’s not something completely different for God than it is for us. However, when it comes to application, it’s analogical. We are wise finitely and God is infinite wisdom.

What does this have to do with the approach to God?

My prayer time for me is the last thing before I turn out the lights at night. I am finding it a more and more exciting time. I find this quite odd and some of you I’m sure can relate. Why is it that I enjoy that time so much, but I find it hard to come and do that which I enjoy so much? One would think it second nature. One would also think it easy to fall back to sleep when I wake up in the middle of the night just by coming to that place of joy again. Both times there seems to be a disconnect and I’m skeptical to it being a disconnect of the same nature each time.

Yet as I pray, I find the words of my prayer being totally inadequate and realize that the God I am addressing is far greater than I thought. We must realize this with Scripture also. It speaks in this language as well that if we took it literally many times, we would be in trouble. It would leave us with some false notions of God. The metaphor is there though to paint a symbol for us of a far more beautiful picture.

Take the passage about boldly approaching the throne of grace. We are told to do that. Consider this though. Do you literally come to a throne? Is God literally sitting on a throne? Is there a place where you go and then you are with God and in another place, God is not there? While I believe God’s presence can be made manifest in a certain area, I also hold to the omnipresence of God and believe that he is in all places.

Instead, I try to realize now that I am not so much coming to him as I am realizing where I already am. Reality clicks in and I realize that God is present and he has always been present. If only I would see him present more often. It would make struggles I have with sin be far more easier and would increase my dedication through long work hours or other forms of suffering.

The throne is to remind me of who he is. He is the king of the universe. He is the originator of the cosmos. He is the creator and sustainer of all life. He is the sovereign master who oversees it all. He is omnipotent. He reigns. I am told to approach the throne, but may I never lose sight of what is meant by that throne.

It could be frankly that sometimes, we have a hard time believing in and trusting God because we haven’t taken a good idea of who he is. We’ve made God so small today that we don’t really consider how awesome it is that such a being exists and what an impact that makes. If God can be taken away from one’s life and there is little or no change ultimately in the worldview, one has to wonder how much impact God was making before. Nietzsche got this right. Take away God and there are consequences and he made sure we knew what those were. 

Now many of us might not be at that point, but are we much better? Do we have the knowledge of who God is as a vibrant reality in our lives that shapes all we do, or does God just occupy one small little portion of our worldview? If you’re wondering if this blogger thinks he’s there yet, rest assured, he’s not. I speak to myself as much as I speak to all of you.

As an intellectual, I also realize a great danger that I face. When doing theology, while I should be intellectual, it is very easy to come to God as if I am a great master of knowledge approaching a subject for study. It is just the reverse. I should come to God realizing that I am a subject and I am approaching the great master. Humility needs to be a huge part of the approach to God.

Consider another case. What if I say I am now approaching him? I am now for me, but God has always been there. My ideas of time and space bind me so much that I cannot help but see them as I approach God. I find it so difficult to fathom a God who lives in an eternal now and is doing all things that he is doing at one moment and holds all knowledge about me at this time, past, present, and future.

Have you stopped to think lately how awesome he is?

If our prayers are nonchalant, maybe it could be because we don’t realize who we’re praying to. If our Christian life is not one that we are growing in grace and truth, maybe we don’t realize who our teacher is. If our Bibles aren’t teaching us truths, maybe we don’t realize who it is that is really the mind behind them.

And yes, I speak to myself as much as you. I need to improve as well.

I don’t know when your time is for prayer, but I hope you have one. Next time you go, consider to whom you are going.

47 Responses to “Analogical Language and Approaching God”

  1. John Gallagher Says:

    Found this article while searching for a way to explain to someone about the analogical use of language. Thanks for posting it.

  2. Bemskie Says:

    Thank you. :)

  3. Chris Says:

    I know this is a really old post, but if you get this, could you post a reference on this statement:

    “The answer is that the concepts that we speak of are univocal, but the application of them is analogical. We can speak of the wisdom of God for instance. Wisdom is meant univocally. It’s not something completely different for God than it is for us. However, when it comes to application, it’s analogical. We are wise finitely and God is infinite wisdom.”

    I don’t disagree, but I was surprised to find that Scotus and I had the same concern, and I’d like more information on this answer. Thanks!

  4. Belly Dancing Says:

    Aw, this was a really good post. In concept I wish to put in writing like this moreover ?taking time and precise effort to make an superb write-up?but what can I say?I procrastinate alot and undoubtedly not appear to get 1 thing done. 769264

  5. early childhood education jobs Says:

    I like the valuable information you supply inside your articles. Ill bookmark your weblog and check once more here regularly. Im quite certain Ill learn several new stuff proper here! Excellent luck for the next! 961872

  6. floor Says:

    Having been merely looking at helpful blog articles with regard to the project research when My partner and i happened to stumble on yours. Thanks for this practical info! 607622

  7. pret personnel meilleur taux Says:

    I like this weblog its a master peace ! Glad I observed this on google . 891397

  8. quit smoking Says:

    Aw, this was a actually good post. In thought I would like to put in writing like this in addition – taking time and actual effort to make a really excellent article but what can I say I procrastinate alot and by no indicates appear to get something done. 947093

  9. resultat quinte Says:

    Pay a visit to our web site for details about securities based lending and a lot more. There is details about stock and equity loans as properly as application forms. 813468

  10. dental assistant training Says:

    Yay google is my king helped me to discover this fantastic web site ! . 187647

  11. Robert Babak Rowshan Says:

    very good put up, i definitely love this web site, keep on it 274055

  12. lennot Says:

    There is noticeably a bundle to realize about this. I assume you created various good points in capabilities also. 265997

  13. νυφικό μακιγιάζ Says:

    so considerably wonderful data on here, : D. 681593

  14. παραδοσιακες στολες Says:

    The when I just read a blog, Im hoping that this doesnt disappoint me approximately this one. Get real, Yes, it was my method to read, but When i thought youd have something interesting to state. All I hear is a number of whining about something that you could fix should you werent too busy trying to find attention. 685577

  15. vitamine d tekort Says:

    I got what you mean ,bookmarked , really good internet web site . 846500

  16. profumi Says:

    When I originally commented I clicked the -Notify me when new feedback are added- checkbox and now every time a remark is added I get four emails with the same comment. Is there any approach youll be able to remove me from that service? Thanks! 588331

  17. blazer femme Says:

    You must be very astute at research and writing. This shows up in your original and unique content. I agree with your primary points on this topic. This content should be seen by more readers. 936373

  18. väiklaen Says:

    An fascinating discussion is worth comment. I do believe which you need to write read a lot more about this subject, it will not be considered a taboo topic but typically everybody is too couple of to communicate in on such topics. To yet another. Cheers 404055

  19. Newcastle Search Engine Optimisation Says:

    Some genuinely fantastic info , Gladiola I detected this. 124444

  20. telefoonabonnementen vergelijken Says:

    …Additional Information ca be found here…

    [...]you make blogging glance[...]…

  21. online real estate appraisals Says:

    For anybody who is interested in enviromentally friendly items, may possibly possibly surprise for you the crooks to maintain in mind that and earn under a holder basically because kind dissolved acquire various liters to critical oil to make. day-to-day deal livingsocial discount baltimore washington 367448

  22. jeux ds Says:

    Hey there! Nice stuff, please keep us posted when you post again something like that! 484729

  23. military charms Says:

    Oh my goodness! an outstanding write-up dude. Thank you Nevertheless Im experiencing issue with ur rss . Do not know why Cannot register for it. Could there be any person obtaining identical rss difficulty? Anybody who knows kindly respond. Thnkx 950053

  24. online bestellen Says:

    Dead written articles , appreciate it for entropy. 984440

  25. Brustverkleinerung Says:

    I notice there is surely lots of spam on this weblog. Do you need to have support cleaning them up? I may possibly support between courses! 298173

  26. verhuizing Amsterdam Says:

    Trackback…

    [...]Excellent blog here! Also your site so much up fast![...]…

  27. china Says:

    Some times its a pain in the ass to read what people wrote but this web site is very user friendly ! . 909248

  28. sequin dress Says:

    I believe this really is among the most vital information for me. And im glad reading your write-up. But wanna remark on couple of common points, The site style is perfect, the articles is actually excellent : D. Excellent job, cheers 649689

  29. cerita bokep Says:

    I got what you intend, saved to bookmarks , really decent internet web site . 976076

  30. click this Says:

    Id forever want to be update on new posts on this site , bookmarked ! . 251479

  31. wordpress hosting florida Says:

    You produced some decent points there. I looked on the internet for that problem and located most individuals goes along with along together with your internet web site. 57887

  32. Google Redirecting Virus Says:

    hello admin, your internet site pages pattern is simple and clean and i like it. Your articles are remarkable. Remember to maintain up the very good function. Greets.. 267389

  33. My German Learning Progress Blog Says:

    Overall, politicians are split on the concern of whether Twitter is a lot more for business or private use. The initial thing may be the fact which you can build up quite a large following of folks. 613726

  34. Penny Stock Egghead Review Says:

    I want reading through and I conceive this website got some really utilitarian stuff on it! . 320935

  35. Santorini Greece Says:

    You produced some decent points there. I looked on-line for any difficulty and located most individuals will go in conjunction with together with your web site. 904442

  36. free renters insurance quote Says:

    camping have been the most effective activity that we can have during the summer, i enjoy to roast marshmallows on a campfire` 397370

  37. white shag rugs Says:

    Should you are interested in envision a alter in distinct llife, starting up typically the Los angeles Surgical procedures fat reduction method can be a large movement so that you can accomplishing which typically thought. shed belly fat 787253

  38. Send Flirty Text Messages Says:

    You really should take part in a contest for among the very best blogs on the internet. I will recommend this internet site! 306741

  39. parfumerija Says:

    Thank you for sharing with us, I believe this site genuinely stands out : D. 62297

  40. music to download now Says:

    Couldn?t be developed any much better. Reading this post reminds me of my old room mate! He always kept talking about this. I will forward this report to him. Pretty certain he will possess a great read. Thanks for sharing! 105575

  41. iphone 4s unlock Says:

    Thank you for your extremely great info and feedback from you. san jose used car 217124

  42. turbo fire Says:

    Hey, are you having issues along with your hosting? I necessary to refresh the page about million times to get the page to load. Just saying 552556

  43. Gold Prices Today Says:

    I was suggested this web site by my cousin. Im not certain whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my trouble. Youre fantastic! Thanks! xrumer 680007

  44. Games news and tips Says:

    very nice post, i definitely enjoy this fabulous website, persist with it 988152

  45. Philips FC 6144 Akkusauger Test Says:

    Typically the New york Weight Loss diet is undoubtedly less expensive and flexible staying on your diet scheme intended for measures nonetheless quickly then duty maintain a nutritious everyday life. weight loss 769029

  46. ziekte van pfeiffer Says:

    Wow, Fantastisch artikel, het is zo handig voor mij, en je blog is zeer goed,
    Ik heb veel geleerd van je blog hier, Blijf gaan, mijn vriend, ik zal een oogje houden ophet,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,964 other followers

